Grace Cathedral

Grace Cathedral

Article | January 31, 2019

Annual Meeting Recap

Blog|The Rev. Canon Anna E. Rossi

Thanks to everyone who attended the Annual Meeting of the Congregation on Sunday, January 27. So much happened in the Year of Truth, and so much is planned for the Year of the Body. Gresham was filled with energy as we gathered to remember and to learn. The 2019 Annual Report can be found here.

In his report to the congregation, Bishop Marc Andrus emphasized diocesan efforts in racial justice and the distinct character of that work in the multi-ethnic Bay Area. This theme will be reflected in the 2019 Convention Eucharist, to be led by Native American Episcopalians. Equally important are diocesan efforts toward carbon reduction. As the cathedral, we have a particular responsibility to get involved! Learn more and sign up at

Dean Malcolm Young highlighted the strategic growth that occurred in 2018, including: 50+ youth at the MLK overnight (Mary Carter Greene); forums, marches and interfaith vigils for justice led by Ellen Clark-King; and the integration of the yoga community, as well as groundbreaking Vine services such as the Beyoncé Mass (Jude Harmon) that open our doors to a broader community.

Other cathedral leaders such as Board President David Walker, Congregation Council President Christine Bensen, and Deanery Co-Convener Karma Quick-Panwala enriched the picture of Grace, its people, and its impact on the wider Church, the community, and the world. Together we watched a video about contributions from our Truth Book from congregants and visitors. Watch the video at

We honored outstanding and beloved congregants. Helen Borgan and Regan Murphy received the Dean and Chapter Award for their longstanding and generous leadership across many ministries. Marisa Hurtado’s crucial contributions in growing The Vine community were recognized with the Office of the Congregation Award.

We also gave thanks for the tireless service of Cathedral Deacon Nina Pickerrell, and look forward to celebrating her ministry at Pentecost, Sunday, June 9.

We elected representatives to governing and advisory bodies, and welcome our new trustees, councilors, and deanery delegates:

Congregational Trustees: Tricia Weaver Moss, Rosemary Turner, Arthur Yeap

Congregation Council: Torrie Fields, Steph McNally, Marc Priester, David Robinson, and Lisa S. Wong

Deanery Delegation: Niall Battson, Joe Garity, Ron Hermanson, Ron Johnson, Jean Krasilnikoff, Karma Quick-Panwala, Barbra Ruffin-Boston

Share to your favorite platform or Email to Family & Friends