Grace Cathedral

Grace Cathedral

Article | January 31, 2020

Annual Meeting Recap


Thanks to everyone who attended the Annual Meeting of the Congregation last Sunday, January 26. We celebrated the exciting things we did together in 2019, the Year of the Body, and looked ahead at our plans for 2020 – the Year of Bridges. Gresham Hall was filled with energy as we gathered to remember and to learn. For those of you who couldn’t join us, our 2020 Annual Report can be found here.

Bishop Marc Andrus emphasized the important role that Grace plays in the spiritual-but-not-religious Bay Area. He particularly described diocesan efforts to move towards more sustainable living by using a web-based carbon tracker. As the cathedral for our diocese, we have a particular responsibility to get involved! Learn more and sign up at SustainIslandHome.

Dean Malcolm Young highlighted the cathedral’s strategic growth in 2019 and identified opportunities in 2020 to increase congregational engagement and build bridges across our broader community. Our efforts include Forums, marches and interfaith vigils for justice led by our Vice Dean, the Rev. Canon Dr. Ellen Clark-King. We’re also excited about deeper integration with the yoga community and our new series of Grace Cathedral Sound Baths.

Board President Stephen Mattoon, Congregation Council President Christine Bensen, Deanery Co-Convener Karma Quick-Panwala and other cathedral leaders enriched our understanding of how the people of Grace impact San Francisco, the wider church and the world. We invite you to watch our video celebrating The Year of the Body, capturing the impactful work we did together in 2019.

We also honored outstanding and beloved congregants. Jennifer Jones Edwardson received the Dean and Chapter Award for her longstanding and generous leadership across many ministries. Judith A. Steinmetz’s crucial contributions to the Hospitality Guild and overall ministry for the cathedral were recognized with the Office of the Congregation Award.

We closed by electing representatives to our governing and advisory bodies. Please join us in welcoming our new trustees, councilors and deanery delegates:

Congregational Trustees: Christine Bensen, Michael Janis, Jean Krasilnikoff

Congregation Council: Moira Dowell, Wai-Kit Ho, Moe Jamil, Tandy Solomon

Deanery Delegation: Niall Battson, Michael Dotson, Ron Hermanson, Stephanie Hoehn, Karma Quick-Panwala, Regina Walton, Erin Wiens St. John, John McLean Wolff (Alternate), Jean Krasilnikoff (Alternate)

Share to your favorite platform or Email to Family & Friends